Santa Ratniece

Santa Ratniece: Vigilia del Mattino


Latvian Radio Choir
Sigvards Kļava - conductor
Kaspars Putniņš - conductor
Jekaterina Suvorova - harp
Dārta Paldiņa - soprano
Laura Štoma - soprano
Gilbert Nouno - electronics
Ieva Ezeriete - soprano
Ēriks Kiršfelds - cello
Ilze Konovalova - alto
Guna Šnē - cello
Ensemble Sarband



Release date



Santa Ratniece

"Vigilia del Mattino"

Santa Ratniece

"War Sum Up: Music. Manga. Machines"

Santa Ratniece

"fuoco celeste"

Santa Ratniece

"nada el layli"


LMIC 086

Santa Ratniece (1977) is an unusual personality among Latvian composers — a traveller and researcher whose music cannot be confused with the compositions of any other composer. Her music is processual; it is music in which time expands like an illuminated horizon, revealing infinity. Her world of sound contains layers of various depth and reaches into the stratosphere, but it also encompasses microvibrations and sensitivity.

Regarding Ratniece’s music, conductor Sigvards Kļava has said that “instead of notes, here the staves often contain sounds that can be impossible to incorporate into the traditional temperament system. But in spite of the very complicated score, which is often difficult to read, she does not compose with the intent to do technical tricks; she does not try to concoct or construct the composition. She composes the sound of the World. This music is so ethereal, so enigmatic — halfway between the singer’s body and soul.”

Release date: